top of page

Withings ScanWatch - Hybrid Smartwatch Done Right

I am a hybrid smartwatch advocate - I like the analog side of things, with it's simplistic yet classic design, and the additional smart features. Compared to the full fledged smartwatch with a full screen display, the main added benefit for me is longer battery life, but then again - the hybrid smartwatch means you lose some smart features.

The hybrid smartwatch has a balance which is just right for me, in these modern times where you are usually bombarded by notifications on your smartphone, not all of those notifications I'd like to pop up on your wrist.

I've had 2 different Withings hybrids in the past:

  • Withings Activite - The original hybrid smartwatch of the company. It was a great - it had steps tracking, sleep tracking, sapphire watch face, 1 year of battery life (via battery replacement), and simplified notification (if you wished). The only problem was - it had 36mm watch face diameter, which was pretty small for my wrist, so I was always keeping watch for a bigger replacement.

  • Withings Steel HR - The updated Withings model, first watch with heart rate monitor and a small screen. What had me was the 40mm watch face diameter - finally something bigger. BUT I had to give up on battery life - 2 weeks (with charging cradle) instead of one year. The additional downside, for some reason, that product line was plagued with watch face fogging - you can see in my review here.

When I gave up on my Withings Steel HR, I felt like I gave up on Withings - at that time they were bought by Nokia, the brand changed, so I moved to Fossil Q Hybrid smartwatches for a while. They were great looking, but their app was limited, and their software support was lacking.

At CES 2020 Withings announced the ScanWatch, which ticked all my boxes:

  • Up to 30 days battery life.

  • Heart rate, ECG and SpO2 (blood oxygen) sensors.

  • 42mm watch face diameter.

  • Classic look

  • Auto exercise detection.

  • Great app and Apple Health app integration.

I bought it almost the moment it was out, which was much later than anticipated - September time instead of June.



Instead of giving you a full review, I'll just give you the PROs and CONs - bottom line!

 

PROs

  • About 20 days of battery life in real life usage.

  • ECG, heart rate and SpO2 sensors.

  • Sleep apnea sensor.

  • Easily change straps.

  • Auto exercise detections work ok with walks outside and running.

  • Sapphire scratch resistant watch face.

  • Water resistant (swim proof).

  • Glow in the dark dials (only on the 42mm models).

  • Withings keep support and adding features - Withings are known for their software support, they either improve or adding features regularly. At the time of the writing of the review, I got a new feature update - Breathe - to take a pre-determined time to relax and breathe your stress out.


CONs

  • SpO2 is a hit and miss most of the time. I get "unable to read" notification most of the time. Tip: If you'll remove the watch and place it directly on you index finger, 99% of the time it is able to give more accurate readings than on the wrist.

  • Battery life is less than the 30 days advertised.

  • I sometimes press the crown while sleeping, activating the fitness tracking by mistake.

  • The watch doesn't track naps!

  • The screen is too small for any real notifications, though I am fine with none.

  • As expensive or more as other full fledged smartwatches.

  • No standalone GPS in the watch for running.

Bottom line: So far (several months later) very happy with the watch, it does everything it should - right. and a bit more than it should! I would defiantly recommend this product to people who look for an analog watch with some simplified smart features.

bottom of page