top of page

Xbox One Elite Controller - Gaming Evolved!

I am invested in the Xbox consoles for the past 10 years or so, ever since the first Xbox 360 came out. If we'll set aside the argument - Which is better - Xbox or Playstation? - The controller layout of the Xbox is my favourite by far! Yes, I've tried the Playstation controller on the Playstation 2 for the better part of 4 years.... and for me - the Xbox controller comes on top!

I've tried in the past modding my existing Xbox One controller, as I have rather large hands, and I needed the controller sticks to be higher, and the grip to be better - and it works alright for most parts... but then one day Microsoft announced the Xbox One Elite Controller and I was very intrigued.

I've been using my Xbox One Elite Controller for the past 6 months and man, I can't go back to a regular one!

Let's get to the point - PROs and CONs are later on, but bottom line - this is the best controller I had the pleasure of playing with!

PROs

  • Comfortable textured grip

  • Up to 4 additional re-mappable buttons under the controller that can be easily triggered via the grip fingers.

  • 2 mapping modes for easy switch

  • Lots of other customizable options: 3 different sets of thumb stick (short concave, short convex and tall concave), 2 different D-pad options.

  • Long micro USB cable for use and charge.

  • Hard shell carrying case to take your gaming rig around.

CONs

  • Expensive - around 3 times the price of a standard controller.

  • Heavier than a standard controller.

  • The additional buttons under the controller may need a learning curve until they will come naturally.

FAQs

  • What games use the full advantage of the remote? First and third person shooters and RPG

  • Does it come with a rechargeable battery? No

  • Will you recommend it for a casual gamer? No, the price makes this controller not an ideal choice if you game just once in a while. 

  • Are there any other options out there which resemble this design? Yes! Razer Wolverine Ultimate - Wired with a lot of similar customizations and price, SCUF Gaming Controller - Wireless with higher priced but better customizations which you can order in advance.

  • Is it comfortable for long periods of use? Yes and no, you will get some aching after 4 hours of continuous use. 

bottom of page